Down the TBR Hole #5

Down the TBR Hole (created by Lia @ Lost in a Story) rules:

  • Order your Goodreads to-read shelf by ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or more) books. If you do this weekly, start where you left off last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

How Mirka Got Her Sword by Barry Deutsch. The tagline of this middle grade graphic novel is “Yet another troll-fighting eleven-year-old Orthodox Jewish girl,” which means besides hitting that Jewish Fantasy button for me, I know it’s going to be funny. Keep.

A Burglar’s Guide to the City by Geoff Manaugh. This nonfiction explores architecture through the perspective of trying to circumvent it, which sounds great. My issue is that I don’t have access to it as an audiobook, which is how I’ve tended to read nonfiction lately. I’ll keep it on the list, but I’m not sure when I’ll ever get to it if that doesn’t change.

At Home: A Short History of Private Life by Bill Bryson. Same deal: this nonfiction that explores world history by moving from room to room in a house sounds interesting, but it will be indefinitely stuck on the TBR list until I can access the audiobook. Keep.

Dress Codes for Small Towns by Courtney C. Stevens. I still have such high expectations for this book! It’s a contemporary that’s supposed to explore the messy in-between areas of sexuality and gender when you’re trying to figure yourself out before anyone else can try to decide for you, and I think it’ll be really good. Keep.

The November Girl by Lydia Kang. Sorry, my brain sees a line like “I am the November storms that terrify sailors and sink ships” and I simply need to read it. Keep.

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana. I don’t want to take this book off my list, but the thing is… that’s the cover affecting my brain. Because it’s so pretty! But the blurb has never interested me all that much, and it doesn’t have anything else to convince me to read it. Honestly, it’s been on thin ice the last few times I cleaned out my TBR. It’s time for it to go. Cut.

Wicked like a Wildfire by Lana Popović. Oh yep. Magic based on manipulating beauty and a set up ripe for lots of complex sister relationships. I still very much want to read this. Keep.

The Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember. This book was only on my list because it has a genderfluid main character. And it’s not like we’re drowning in genderfluid characters now—far from it—but I at least don’t feel the need to read a book whose plot doesn’t otherwise appeal to me because of it. Hopefully more books will come out as time goes on with genderfluid protagonists that I’m more interested in. Cut.

The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James. Based on the tightlipped blurb and the tone of the reviews, I’m not sure what to expect from this book—will it be creepy? Is it super sci fi or just ten minutes into the future? But it makes me want to find out! Keep.

This series is definitely butting up against the fact that I’ve gone through my TBR and culled several times before, so it’s hard to find excess. But hey, I cut two this time!

  • Total books gone through: 45
  • Total books cut: 11
  • Percentage of books I’ve cut from the books I’ve gone through: 24%

Leave a comment